Select Page

Another interesting year in the world, about which maybe the less said the better. But thank goodness there are always books to provide distraction, entertainment, information and joy.

Image of grid of book covers from Goodreads read-2018 list

I might not have blogged a lot but I can’t break with tradition. So, for the thirteenth!!! time, here are some of my favourite books this year:

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street – Natasha Pulley. An historical with subtle fantasy and a subtle slow burn romance and some intriguing ideas.

Nevermoor – Jessica Townsend. If you’re a fan of English style children’s fantasy in the vein of Harry Potter and Diana Wynne Jones, give this one a go.

Strange Practice – Vivan Shaw. A doctor to the paranormal creatures of London. Another entry in the category of kind and hopeful fantasy a la The Goblin Emperor though this one is more urban fantasy.

Beneath the Sugar Sky – Seanan McGuire. Another great book from Seanan.

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan. Romance, crazy rich people and family drama on the scale of Judith Krantz or Jackie Collins. Fun! The movie was pretty good too.

Artificial Condition – Martha Wells. The continuing adventures of Murderbot. Excellent stuff.

In the Market for Murder – T.E. Kinsey. The Lady Hardcastle series was a find this year. A widow and her lady’s maid who have an interesting past retire to the country and become embroiled in murders. If you like cozy mysteries, add this one to your list.

The Henchmen of Zenda – K.J. Charles. Every evil henchman deserves his day 😀

Maggie’s Run – Kelly Hunter. It’s a Kelly Hunter book. Go buy it.

The Art of Inheriting Secrets – Barbara O’Neal. I love Barbara’s books and her lastest has art and food and England and romance and I’ve already read it twice.

Spinning Silver – Naomi Novik. Another great fantasy from Naomi. I think Uprooted is still my fave of hers but this was also awesome.

Jane Doe – Victoria Helen Stone. An unapologetic psychopathic/sociopathic heroine who uses her powers to avenge a friend. Loved it.

Home to Turtle Bay – Marion Lennox. Marion writes lovely romances and this single title was just what the doctor ordered when I was recuperating from surgery.

Wolfsong – T.J. Klune A new to me werewolf series that I’m really enjoying. I hope there’s a third book soon.

Making Up – Lucy Parker. Another fab romance from Lucy.

Iron & Magic and Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews. I like everything she writes but these were a great opening to a new series and a great finish to one of my all time faves.

So there you have it. My fave reads of the year. I read lots of good books but try to keep this post a reasonable length. Mosey on over to Goodreads if you want to see everything I read. You can find my audiobooks on Goodreads too. My fave comfort listen continues to be The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, a book I seem to never tire of. This year I think I kept listening to podcasts. My two favorite podcasts continue to be Chat 10 Looks 3 and No Such Thing As A Fish. Honorable mentions to The Pen Addict (yes, I am a stationery geek), Ramblings, The West Wing Weekly, Conversations with Richard Fidler, Elise Gets Crafty, Writing Excuses, Buffering The Vampire Slayer, Pratchat, The Teacher’s Pet and Every Musical Ever.

If you’d like to check out what books I picked as faves in previous years, here’s the lists:

201720162015, 2014, 2013, 20122011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006.

Hopefully you can find a new fave in there. Let me know what some of yours were so I can add to the never-ending TBR list! Happy 2019! May the books you read bring you happiness and may your bookshelves be sturdy!

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This